My brother is the funniest man in my life after my dad.  As small children, I remember playing all silly games with him. Two of the most popular games being “Gymnastic” “Gymnastic” and the other being “Wrestling” “Wrestling”. 

By the way, let me tell you my brother and I were arch rivals because he was born after 6 years of me getting all the undivided attention from my parents which got a little misbalanced once he came to our family. This reminds me of a forward that Aneesha had sent me once, with the subject line, “Notes to God by children”. This reminds me of one particular note which I so much relate to, “ God, thank you for the baby brother but I think you got confused. I asked for a puppy instead”. Well, I don’t remember if I had asked for a puppy but am sure a puppy would definitely have been a lot better than an irritating brother who would get beaten up by the other boys only to be saved by me, Oh, another thing, I had been the savior of my arch rival on many occasions.  

So as I was saying, we used to play these games. Now, typically you all have seen Gymnastics, the event that we all see during Olympic telecast.  So our Gymnastic was not exactly the same Gymnastic though very much like it. I would stand in a particular position and my brother would come running and hop on to me and hang on to my shoulder or cling to me like a monkey and the essence of the game would be for how long can I hold him like that and he can cling to me like that. 

The other game was even grander. Wrestling Wrestling:- Well, he would usually be the Japanese Sumo wrestler, Yokozuna or Undertaker and I would be this wrestler, I don’t remember the name, though I used to find him very handsome. And the 2 of us would wrestle with each other, free style.  

Years later when I grew up and got busy, I still saw him playing “Wrestling” “Wrestling” on his own, with a pillow. And for this solitary game, he made a special costume for getting into the skin of the character by chopping off fingers from a leather gloves, black colored, to be precise, a cape, a face mask, which he himself designed, like Spidy Part 1, and then he would keep jumping on the bed the whole day with that pillow and keep beating, punching that pillow.

That bed now has been discarded because it had lost all its 4 legs due to the barbaric jumps that my brother used to make. If I were to write the autobiography of that poor bed, it would be a heart wrenching story. Lets not get in to that. 

My brother still plays “Wrestling” Wrestling” , though my replacement Mr. Pillow, has now been replaced by our bitch Gultu. She has to bear the brunt of my 23 year old brother, who still gives her “Dhobi Pachad” and the poor animal, all that she is allowed to do is, show her canines in frustration and do “bow” “bow” She also realizes that my brother is a gone case.

Wonder what did my mother eat at the time of his delivery? 

The 3rd most popular games of all times was the “Bum pressing boat ride”.  Well, as the game suggests, you have to press the bum.

Let me tell you the rules of the game. 1st fold your legs and make your kid brother sit on your feet and he would keep his foot on your bum and the trick is to balance him while you pretend that you are a boat and he is the boat rider and there is a lot of turbulence in the water, while you are busy doing this your irritating brother keeps pressing your bums, which is usually one of the sensitive parts of your body and you keep controlling the ticklish feeling but in the end you start laughing and the boat man falls and you lose.

 All said and done, would like to know your part of childhood games and also would encourage people to play these games with the children at home off course with adult supervision, though, when it comes to me, at this age also I need adult supervision because the child in me never seems to grow.

6 thoughts on “Bhai:- The Brother

  1. Hmm .. a trip down memory lane 🙂 Accha hai – but some how I think it doesnt do justice to ur kid bro – i mean specially when u describe how he treats ur doggie. I would definitely like to read the saga of the bed that lost its legs 🙂 Good going – keep up the right “write” spirit .. looking frwrd to more…

  2. :)….makes u feel nostalgic …as i do remeber the games between me & my sisters… 🙂
    nice one dudette…keep the words flowing…..

  3. Let’s see….my brother and I played swimming swimming which like your gymnastics was imitating the pool competitions we saw on tv. What we did instead was jump from the head of the bed and ‘swim’ across the length of the bed in freestyle. Another one was bum surgery. we alternated between playing doctor and patient. The patient got an injection shot where else and then proceeded a medical procedure known only to the Dr of the moment. There was a fishing game my brother had created. Of course the one played out most of the times was fighting with each other…hey really nice trip down memory lane

  4. gets back lotsa memories…. my sis and I used to enact the Secret Seven series of Enid Blyton.. we pretended there was some kinda mystery we were trying to solve.. I used to make her sit on the handle of my BSA SLR and paddle backwards while going on our mission… we even had code words, just in case, somebody looking exactly like us walked in our house, i wud know who my real Mumu was and she wud know who her real didi was… hehehehe….

Leave a Reply

