I think I live in a jungle, no I am sure I live in a jungle village. I have run out of cooking gas and its been 25 days Bharat Gas has been efficiently inefficient in not delivering gas but delivering false promises; Gas delivery happening today at 11 a.m. which becomes 2 p.m. after 12 noon and then 6 p.m. by the time its 4 p.m. and after 6 p.m. it becomes delivery happening next day. Apparently Bharat Gas is known for their ever delaying delivery in Bangalore. However their website has all the big talks on customer satisfaction and customer being the king. The days of the monarchy being over; customer being the king backfires everywhere in Bangalore, be it plumber, who will tell you that he will come for sure, and he does come after 15 days of chasing when he realizes that the next day is a dry day and he would need more money to buy alcohol in black. Autowalahs are the shining example of customer service and performing their duties of taking us helpless commuters to our destination when it rains and IT city roads are water logged, when open drains become death traps; They simply look at you top to bottom and do a quick mental calculation which depends on how drenched you are and how far do you stay because that is exactly proportionate to the amount of fleecing that they can do.

 

Karnataka, I think, is the only state where you need a ration card to get a new connection for cooking gas. No election card, no passport (which you used to travel to USA when 9/11  happened), no nothing doing, only ration card. So what do you do if you were stupid enough to think that driver’s license, passport, voters card, pan card are all government authenticated valid documents and missed out on making a ration card? The answer is simple, you buy gas in black and the vendors will happily sell you cooking gas illegally because the state itself promotes dishonesty by tying up your hands since you don’t have a ration card. How does one get a ration card? Well I don’t know, I don’t even want to know because I anyway won’t be going to a ration shop, stand in a queue to buy my share of dust filled, husk filled, stone laden grains.

 

Why do I get a feeling that it is more useful if you are either a poor or a rich kid in this country, or may be a dalit because general category people from middle class families can’t arm twist the government nor do they get anything from the government’s kitty because the government won’t get anything from the educated middle class. They can’t brain wash us by giving us saree or free TV sets, nor can they earn heavy revenue from us because we won’t be starting a infrastructural project in their state. Yes all we do is pay our taxes on time which helps them get their salaries and buy new cars with great shock absorbers after all in Bangalore you need great shock absorbers and huge asses to take all the bumpy rides. I am sure I must have broken a few small bones already in 2 years becuase I don’t have a huge cushy ass, but repetitive torture of bumps, pot holes, open drains, no footpaths, lot of traffic has already numbed my senses to feel any more pain.

 

I have already given an ultimatum to my husband to get out of this village before I lose my mental balance and he finds me in some city mental hospital.

 

Here’s my wish list (which no one is interested in but still):- I want gas delivered on time and not wait for 20-25 days every month, I want good and intelligent customer service from my credit card company especially Citibank which goes berserk every month precisely 10 days before my due date fearing I might runaway to Afghanistan, I want good customer service from Airtel which can not provide a simple service like call conferencing, where agents don’t understand the difference between call details and call charges, I want quick resolution of petty problems like fixing water pipes which took an entire day of pestering, no 1000 bucks grocery bill where the grocery list contains potato, onion, mango, orange, bread and milk, I want better roads where I can walk without a life or accident insurance, I want footpaths and not drain covers in the guise of footpath, I want honest autowallas. Ah! Me and my huge expectations.

 

Note:- Hate comments though not welcome, will anyway get them on my blog because that’s what people do, join on-line fight clubs and not address real issues.

10 thoughts on “Rule of Anarchy

  1. You know what will Karnatak give you in resposne to your long wish list… “Learn Kannada” “Go back to North India”

    But I so agree with everything. Every day over the past 2 years I have felt this city has no administration at all.. I have not seen a single development in 2 years. Its amazing how they run the state capital.

    In the name of administration you have bunch of crazy loser type Traffic police to who no body gives a fuck.. they break signals right through their nose..

    just crazy..

  2. Dunno why citibank pesters you, none of the banks I’ve cards with nag me! But then I don’t have Citibank, eh!😉

    no 1000 bucks grocery bill where the grocery list contains potato, onion, mango, orange, bread and milk

    Ah well, it depends on the quantity no?😉 One fine day I bought some cheese slices, red bull, tropicana, pepsi & mars bars from Reliance Fresh & the bill was about Rs.900, eh!!😉

    Good plumbers & honest autorickshaw drivers? You sure can dream, eh!! The situation is same everywhere in case of these two types, & it sucks!!😦

  3. I read your blog and found it very informative. The event blogs are striking enough to have a feel of the event, so, I would like to have a little chit-chat on your blogging interests. And even we are coming up with an event on startups on June 6th. So, can I have your contact details? Looking forward to hear from you.
    Contact me at ojas@siliconindia.com

  4. In the same boat as you for the gas issues. There seems to be more than one kind of ration cards and there are agents who are known to obtain them for you. But I just felt it to be so wrong to have a ration card for these things. I decided to stick to private gas suppliers no matter how much they cost me extra. I drive with my empty cylinder to exchange it when I need to refill, so don’t have to worry about Bangalore’s notorious service providers and their timelines.

  5. Hey Dr. Motion,

    I could almost see you fuming (funny since I don’t know how you look) when I read the last line “I want honest autowallahs”. …

    I am sure that there would be millions across the length and breadth of our country who would be able to relate to the issues you have been facing.

    However, just as me and probably you too on this, there would be very few who would know how and where to route these issues and how to get the people who are at the helm of things and administration and can get some action done to read this post.

    Anyway, it was good to read through your blog (as ever) and like always I wanted to send across my best wishes to you.

    Take care.

  6. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  7. I do consider all the ideas you’ve presented to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for newbies. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

